Clarksville Civitan Club holds public safety awards

Clarksville Civitan Club holds public safety awards

Photo: Clarksville Now

Lee Erwin reporting

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. – The Clarksville Civitan Club hosted its annual Public Safety Awards at their weekly meeting on Wednesday, April 23. Each year the organization honors one outstanding member from each of the public safety services in Montgomery County.

Clarksville Police Officer Alex Koziol received an award for his response to a vehicle crash on November 11 2013 at the intersection of Trenton Road and Northfield Drive. Officer Koziol was first on the scene and performed CPR on a crash victim who was not breathing and is credited with saving the persons life.

Montgomery County Sheriff’s Deputy David “Bubba” Johnson was honored for his 32 years of public safety to the community. The last 16 years were with the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office. Johnson’s patrol vehicle was involved in a traffic crash and he was killed while on duty January 12 2014.

Johnson’s devotion to public service was also recognized for his work with the Montgomery County Emergency Medical Service where he served for five years. Johnson was licensed as an Emergency Medical Technician in 1981 and maintained his license throughout his career as a Police Officer and Sheriff’s Deputy until the time of his death.

Lieutenant Gary Santora received the Civitan Public Safety Award for Clarksville Fire Rescue. Santora has been a firefighter since 2001 and has been instrumental in the remodeling of Fire Stations # 1, # 6 and # 9. He has reportedly saved Clarksville Fire Rescue Thousands of Dollars with his personal skills and equipment.

Also honored with an award was Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office Reserve Deputy Edwin Lowrey. He is the Training Officer for the reserves and has served with the Sheriff’s Office for the last 15 years. In 2013 Lowrey worked over 250 volunteer hours and he also serves on the Reserves Board of Directors.

The awards were presented by Clarksville City Councilwoman Kaye Jones who is a member of the Clarksville Civitan Club.